• Format: LP
  • Band: Marsyas
  • Title: Marsyas
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Folk & Folkrock, male & female vocals
  • Rating: 3
  • Release Year: 2019
  • Recording Year: 1977
  • Production Year: 1978/2019
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6555-1
  • Color of the Label: pictured
  • Edition: 2019
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl, fold out cover, inner sleeve
  • EAN: 099925655518
  • Weight: 360 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

An exquisite re-release of the cult folk-rock album.

With its genesis dating back to the mid-1970s, the album released in 1978 is still a musical family silver today. From the original acoustic trio made up of two guitars and three vocals, Zuzana Michnová, Petr Kalandra and Oskar Petr transformed into a band temporarily extended by an electrified ensemble.

The frontman, arranger and guitarist Pavel Fořt invited to the studio M. Kocáb, O. Soukup, L. Malina, J. Kubík, E. Viklický, J. Hrubý and other artists with a view to making the album sound folkrock, yet without infracting the delicate essence of the original songs. Petr, the creator of the majority of the music and lyrics, was splendidly supported by Michnová and Kalanda, giving rise to superb polyphonies, which, along with the multi-layered and colourful images, and phrases furnished with texts, have remained a hallmark and guarantee of an extraordinary quality.

This year’s rerelease has been taken care of by the renowned Sono studio. Graphic variations on the original album’s layout have been created by Karel Haloun and Luděk Kubík. The LP’s cover and the CD pack feature all the songs’ lyrics, period and new sleeve notes, reviews, the musicians’ observations and photographs. The 180 gram vinyl record completes the reedition, thus making it extremely attractive for collectors and evoking one of the best Czech musical accomplishments.


Side A

1. Hrnek (Sleepy Mountain Ecstasy) 3:19
2. Dívka z plakátu 3:42
3. Barvám (I’ll Keep It with Mine) 4:32
4. Postavím si dům z obilí 2:54
5. Zmrzlinář 6:04

Side B

1. Lilin tanec 3:58
2. Paleta 4:24
3. Dopisy 3:12
4. Bělásek ztracený v dálkách 2:51
5. Den s tebou 6:17