• Format: CD
  • Band: Stromboli
  • Title: Shutdown
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock, male & female vocals
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2013
  • Recording Year: 1988-1989
  • Production Year: 1989/2013 C
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6203-2
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras: digipak
  • EAN: 099925620325
  • Weight: 78 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

Stromboli’s 1989 project: Superlative modern music furnished with English lyrics!

In the nine pieces there are still the artrock repercussions, but added to the mix are a gleeful funky bass, Celtic undertones, multilayered and multicoloured guitar and Bára Basiková’s voice in various moods! What is essential is that it all holds together very well. The band’s original instruments are enriched by the possibilities of synthesisers and drum machines, while the core trio of Michal Pavlícek, Bára Basiková and Jirí Veselý is in individual compositions supported by other Stromboli members (Kryšpín, Seidl, Kašpárková, Dragoun) and guests (M. Vitouš, Zdenek, Cok, etc.). The album’s magic is undoubtedly enhanced by Martin Nemec’s lyrics, translated into English by Michael Žantovský and Ondrej Hejma. Michal Horácek acts in the role of narrator, author of two texts, as well as the accompanying word defining each song.

Compared to the debut outing, it is a more integrated album in production terms, with a few tracks (Sandonorico, Scanners, Back in the Castle, Around the Fires…) firmly in the “top-notch late-80s pop” category. In part you can feel the spirit of Bára and Nemec’s band Precedens, but above all the presiding influence of Pavlícek’s guitar compositions and arrangements, skilfully making use of various electrical gadgets. Although possibly a less breakthrough Czech rock apparition than the previous double LP, it is an album logically advancing all its participants into the 1990s. Sensitively remastered by Andy Lažo from the original tapes, in a digipak with additional photographs.

Top-notch late-80s rock pop with a newly polished sound!

Kalemegdan Disk Additions

From the Eighties Czechoslovakia has been the East European country with the richest production of non-mainstream music. Stromboli was one of the outstanding Czechoslovakian bands from the Eighties playing modern progressive rock.

The reissue of their second album comes in a carefully designed six pages black and white digipak.


1. Abacus / Pocítadlo 5:30
2. Labyrinth / Labyrint 4:59
3. Scanners / Duchové 3:29
4. Around the Fires / Okolo ohnu 4:38
5. Why / Proc 4:51
6. Sandonorico / Sandonoriko 6:08
7. Back in the Castle / Zpátky v tom zámku 4:16
8. Shutdown / Vypnout 3:57
9. Picturesque Bells / Pitoreskní zvony 6:58