Pani v cernem (Singly 1967-1972)

  • Format: CD
  • Band: Flamengo
  • Title: Pani v cernem (Singly 1967-1972)
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Beat & progressive Rock, compilation, partly English lyrics
  • Rating: 5
  • Release Year: 2003
  • Recording Year: 1967-1972
  • Production Year: 2003
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 5496-2 311
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras:
  • EAN: 099925549626
  • Weight: 88 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new
Supraphon release information

Supraphon has completed its re-releases of Flamengo’s “big-beat” classics!

In the wake of the re-edition of their one and only, not to mention landmark, album Kure v hodinkách (Chicken in the Watch), it has collated a collection of the band’s previous singles, featuring not only Vladimír Mišík. Three distinct singles penned by Petr Novák – Já budu chodit po špickách (I Will Tiptoe), Povídej (Talk) and Náhrobní kámen (Gravestone) – need no introduction whatsoever. In addition, the song Džbán (Jug), brought to fame by Novák, is presented here on a recording made with Pavel Sedlácek.

Yet the most frequently represented soloist is Karel Kahovec, who sings the titular Paní v cerném (Lady in Black), Poprava blond holky (Execution Of A Blonde), Zavraždil jsem lásku (I’ve Killed Love), as well as John Mayall’s No Reply. The English vocalist Joan Duggan sings Gershwin’s Summertime, while earlier recordings were made by Vladimír Mišík and Ivan Khunt. The rarity bonus is the 1966 recording from the Czech Television archives of the hit Black Is Black, borrowed from the repertoire of the Spanish band Los Bravos and performed by Viktor Sodoma, who in the band’s original line-up shared vocal duties with Petr Novák. The erudite accompanying text was written by Flamengo’s contemporary Jaromír Tuma.

Kalemegdan Disk additions

While their LP Kure v hodinkách (recorded 1971 – 1972) which Supraphon rereleased on LP and CD in 2012 has started to be distributed into the whole world, it is still quite unknown outside Czechoslovakia that the band was active already during the Sixties. In my opinion they were one of the best East European Beat bands, playing on the same level as The Matadors.

This compilation of Flamengo´s Singles offers a surprising sound: After a start with a few “innocent” compositions the CD offers mainly modern Beat music, partly with fuzz guitars and English lyrics. And the final are a few songs from their progressive phase during the early Seventies.

1. Já budu chodit po špickách 00:02:16
2. Povídej 00:02:03
3. Svou lásku jsem rozdal 00:03:08
4. Poprava blond holky 00:04:33
5. Co skrýváš v ocích 00:04:02
6. Vyber si palác 00:03:05
7. Paní v cerném 00:03:25
8. Náhrobní kámen 00:03:52
9. Džbán 00:03:00
10. Zavraždil jsem lásku 00:03:30
11. No Reply 00:02:44
12. The Way For Horses (Cesta pro kone) 00:03:29
13. Summertime 00:04:00
14. Too Much Love Is A Bad Thing (Mnoho lásky škodí) 00:04:23
15. Vím, že plácem to skoncí 00:05:35
16. Každou chvíli 00:04:00
17. Týden v elektrickém meste 00:04:07
18. Stále dál 00:03:15
19. Kure v hodinkách 00:03:35
20. Black Is Black 00:02:48