Blue Effect

  • Format: CD
  • Band: Blue Effect
  • Title: Live
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock live
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2008
  • Recording Year: 2007
  • Production Year: 2008
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 5873-2
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras:
  • EAN: 099925587321
  • Weight: 86 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new
Supraphon release information

A recording documenting a breathtaking concert given by Blue Effect and a plethora of very special guests!

The band’s remarkable performance at Prague’s Lucerna Music Bar in 2007 was a truly unique event. Forty years after the Matadors had released their first album, all the surviving original members, stars of the thriving Czech big beat scene of the mid-1960s, got back together again on stage. In the packed venue, the guitarist Radim Hladík, the keyboard player Jan F. Obermayer and the vocalist Viktor Sodoma unfurled a set of classic numbers with the aroma of rhythm & blues and typical Czech melody.

Vladimír Mišík then shifted the concert to the era of early Blue Effect, a veritable bombshell busting on to the scene at the tail-end of the rocking 1960s. His Slunecný hrob (Sunny Grave) is a song that simply transcends all categories. The instrumental Cajovna (Tea Room) features occasional jazz-rock undertones, as well as the new voices of Lešek Semelka and Oldrich Veselý, whose songs Rajky (Birds Of Paradise) and Ej, padá, padá rosenka (Oh, Dew Is Falling) need no introduction.

The end of the concert afforded scope to a new sound of the tried-and-tested repertoire. Hladík’s “juniors” enthusiastically ran through Rainy Day and Sun Is So Bright, demonstrating to all those present that they are worthy successors to the older music celebrities, headed by Radim Hladík with absolute certainty.

Blue Effect Live: 70 minutes of top-notch music in top-notch sound!

Kalemegdan Disk additions

A good concert in a good recording quality.

1. Zapomenuté svetlo 00:04:22
2. Je treba obout boty a pak dlouho jít 00:08:52
3. Indolence 00:05:09
4. Out Of Reach (vyšla pod názvem I´m So Lonesome) 00:03:53
5. Get Down From The Tree (Slez dolu ze stromu) 00:03:49
6. Slunecný hrob 00:05:57
7. Cajovna 00:03:01
8. Avignonské slecny z Prahy 00:04:21
9. Zmoudrení babím létem 00:08:33
10. Rajky 00:06:47
11. Ej, padá, padá rosenka 00:07:32
12. Rainy Day (Deštivý den) 00:04:44
13. I Like The World (Sun Is So Bright) 00:04:19